The SPB16.3 PCB SI release has simplified the use of case management.
In previous releases, a Signoise case management dialog often appeared after changing SI parameters or before running a simulation. This dialog is shown below:
The purpose of this dialog was to allow you to control what to do with existing simulation data that might now be out of date. The options provided by this dialog are:
- Save the existing simulation data in the current case and create a new case for the next simulation.
- Delete the existing simulation data and use the current case for the next simulation.
- Use the current case for the next simulation but don't delete the existing simulation data.
- There is also a button on the dialog to remember the current choice and not prompt again.
Case Management Default Behavior
Currently, the default case management behavior is to display the case management dialog each time Signoise determines that the state of the drawing and SI parameters are no longer in synch with the existing simulation data.
With SPB16.3, the default value for this parameter has been changed to "clear." This determines that when the simulation data is out of date, this data should be deleted and the current case reused. This will mean that, by default, you will never see the case management dialog.
Selection of Current Case
The Probe Reports and Probe Waveforms dialogs both contain a field that shows the current simulation case and allows you to select a different case. These dialogs are shown below:
Both of these dialogs contain a Case Selection field. A change has been made in 16.3 that blanks these fields if there is only one case. Since having only one case will be the new default behavior, most users will never see the Case Selection fields in these dialogs.
I look forward to your interest in using this capability!
Jerry "GenPart" Grzenia