I am having a discussion with Cadence R&D (via an AE) about "resetting" the Concept-HDL menus. When you select Tools->Customize, then the Menus tab, form is displayed. On this form there is a "Reset" button. The discussion is about what is expected when the reset button is pressed.Originally posted in cdnusers.org by dallas
I feel that the menu should revert to what it would be if the user had no Concept menu in their $HOME/cdssetup/concept folder. I.e. if there is any CDS_SITE customization or if the user had modified the menus in CDS_ROOT, those changes would appear the next time you start the tool. This means that resetting should simply delete the _menu and _keys files in $HOME/cdssetup/concept.
What actually happens is that a menu is created in $HOME/cdssetup/concept folder that is the same as the installation menu. There are several problems with this.
1 - the menu that is created is not a copy of the $CDSROOT/share/cdssetup/concept/concepthdl_menu.txt file. If the user has changed this file (they shouldn't) the changes are not in the reset menu.
2 - the menu that is created overrides any menu the user has defined in $CDS_SITE. I.e. they don't get what they would have if there were no $HOME/cdssetup menu.
3 - if you are using multiple versions of Concept-HDL, starting a version that is not the same as the one the menu was created from gives an error and you have to reset the menus again.
What do you feel should happen when the "Reset" button is pressed?
A - the $HOME/cdssetup/concepthdl_menu (and _key) file is deleted.
B - a copy of $CDSROOT/share/concepthdl_menu ( and _key) files are made in $HOME/cdssetup/concept.