Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Isn't the Library Manager actually the problem with DM?

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Isn't the Library Manager actually the problem with DM? 

Last post Fri, Sep 7 2007 2:19 PM by archive. 3 replies.
Started by archive 07 Sep 2007 02:19 PM. Topic has 3 replies and 1524 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Sep 7 2007 2:19 PM

• archive
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 4 2008
    • Posts 88
    • Points 4,910
    Isn't the Library Manager actually the problem with DM? Reply

I've been using Composer for about 10 years now and in my honest opinion the way the Library manager is working is the problem. Or to be more precise, the way it is not working, at least for 5.1.41. As the design goes on, a particular cellName will get a lot of cellViews: schematic, config, symbol, layout, av_extracted and so on, and now we can also have the ADE states saved as cellViews. This fills up the cellView column pretty fast, and if you want to have a little backup of a view, specially the av_extracted and layout views are very often duplicated as layouters experiment to reduce parasitics. Configs also tend to get plentiful as schematics are replaced with av_extracted views. If you use something like DesignSync then earlier revisions get suffixes added with _1_2 etc. and needless to say no engineer can guess just from such a name what to use if he is instantiating somebody elses design.