Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Extract netlist from layout

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Extract netlist from layout 

Last post Fri, Dec 21 2007 2:49 AM by archive. 2 replies.
Started by archive 21 Dec 2007 02:49 AM. Topic has 2 replies and 3515 views
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Dec 21 2007 2:49 AM

• archive
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 4 2008
    • Posts 88
    • Points 4,930
    Extract netlist from layout Reply

Hello all,

I am a digital design engineer and am trying to simulate power up/down behavior of a small system using Virtuoso.
    The flow I followed: make a 32-bit adder in VHDL, synthesize the design using RTLCompiler, place&route using Encounter, extract GDSII with Encounter (including the GDSII of the standard cells used). Next I import the GDSII in Virtuso and I can see the layout.

What I would now want to do is to simulate the design using the Virtuso Analog Environment and see how much current is going into the vdd of the design when switching power. For doing this I got told that you first need a netlist of the whole design, and this is where I got stuck. I can extract the netlist of the adder from Encounter, but I don't have the schematics of my standard cells.

On http://www.iaik.tugraz.at/teaching/05_vlsi-design/manual/netlist_extraction/index.php a method is explained to extract the netlist from layout using Diva. For this a rule file is required, but when checking the foundry website the rule files for diva are only available for older technologies. Rule files for Assura available, but when I try to use the extarct.rul file in that package in Diva I get a bunch of errors on the file syntax.

Is it possible to extract the netlist using Assura?