Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Calculating IC parameters using layout dimensions.

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Calculating IC parameters using layout dimensions. 

Last post Sun, Oct 20 2013 9:45 AM by Andrew Beckett. 1 replies.
Started by ChelseaFC 20 Oct 2013 04:46 AM. Topic has 1 replies and 1883 views
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Sun, Oct 20 2013 4:46 AM

• ChelseaFC
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Oct 20 2013
    • Posts 1
    • Points 20
    Calculating IC parameters using layout dimensions. Reply

Hello everyone,

This is my first post, so please bear with me. Hopefully, we all can learn something here.

I am a student of Electrical Engineering, and i working on a small research project. For the starters, i have been given an assignment in which i am suppose to find the parameters of an INVERTER that was fabricated using the cadence layout tool. But, the problem is that i have been taught how to find parameters using the circuit layout (using voltages and currents), not the fabrication layout (using fabrication dimensions).
    All i have been given to do so is a print out of the layout, and the dimensions of different layers (Polysilicon, metal 1, metal 2 e.t.c.)
    So my question is, is it even possible to calculate the parameters using JUST the dimensions of the layers? and if yes, what text should i read to find any equations or formulas that i need.
    I just can not comprehend how it is possible to find the parameters of an INVERTER, just with the use of a print out of layout and the dimensions (Lambda) of the layers?

I am not asking for spoon feeding, i really just don't know where to even start. So, any leads would be really helpful.

Thank you. 

• Post Points: 20
  • Sun, Oct 20 2013 9:45 AM