Home > Community > Forums > PCB SKILL > Updating pad names with SKILL

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Updating pad names with SKILL 

Last post Wed, May 8 2013 5:39 PM by MikeBR. 3 replies.
Started by MikeBR 08 May 2013 10:05 AM. Topic has 3 replies and 610 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, May 8 2013 10:05 AM

• MikeBR
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, May 8 2013
    • Posts 3
    • Points 30
    Updating pad names with SKILL Reply

Hello all,

I'm a total novice at using skill skill scripting, but have a background in other languages (C++ mostly).  At my company, we have a huge database of symbols, padstacks, etc.  And would like to standardize all of them.  The only reasonable way I can see to accomplish this is to figure out how to write a script that will update every drawing automatically.

The problem I'm trying to figure out is how to take the information in a padstack (the width, height, type, etc.) and rename the padstack using that information.  So, for example, a 0.5 x 1.5 rectangular pad becomes 0p5x1p5r.pad

Is this possible?  If so, how?

Thanks,

Mike

• Post Points: 20
  • Wed, May 8 2013 10:51 AM

• aCraig
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Aug 16 2008
    • Pepperell, MA
    • Posts 129
    • Points 2,125
    Re: Updating pad names with SKILL Reply

YOu will need to create new padstack called 0p5x1p5.pad then replace the old padstack with the new one. Look at axlDBCreatePadstack and axlReplacePadstack.

Update: take a look at this thread. http://www.cadence.com/Community/forums/p/16922/1179240.aspx#1179240

Craig

• Post Points: 20
  • Wed, May 8 2013 4:38 PM

• MikeBR
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 3
    • Points 30