Home > Community > Forums > PCB SKILL > Need guidance on how to select nets, pads, and vias with a certain property

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Need guidance on how to select nets, pads, and vias with a certain property 

Last post Mon, Apr 15 2013 10:12 AM by Ejlersen. 19 replies.
Started by mesaman000 25 Mar 2013 12:14 PM. Topic has 19 replies and 2730 views
Page 1 of 2 (20 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts:
  • Mon, Mar 25 2013 12:14 PM

Need guidance on how to select nets, pads, and vias with a certain property Reply

Hi,

I'm a beginner to SKILL programming and I took the basic tutorial class but seems to not be many resources for what I need to do.  I'm trying to initialize all pads, etch, via, nets, and shapes to a certain color like GREY.  Once I do that, I want to search the PCB editor database and identify which nets have a certain spacing class property: "1" "2" "3" or "4".   I want all pads and vias with the spacing class property 1 to be RED for example, all pads and vias with the spacing class property 2 to be BLUE, etc.

Lastly, I want to export a PDF of this color map.  Can someone please help give me an idea of how I can achieve something like this?

Something I've started with is roughly like this:

design_dbid=axlDBGetDesign()

scset=axlCnsList("spacing") ;**Say my four spacing constraints are Default, 1, 2, 3, 4

**how do I traverse through all pads and vias?**

comp_dbid_list=design_dbid->components (pads isn't a property of design_dbid, is this the right method?)

foreach(comp_dbid comp_dbid_list

if comp_dbid->scset==1

**how do I change the color of these to RED? 

If anyone could provide any guidance or help it would be great!  Thank you! 

• Post Points: 20
  • Mon, Mar 25 2013 6:09 PM

• eDave
    • Top 10 Contributor