Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > About Schematic and footprints in orcad..

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

About Schematic and footprints in orcad.. 

Last post Thu, Nov 22 2012 11:00 PM by vincentronel. 3 replies.
Started by Wonderman 19 Nov 2012 02:05 AM. Topic has 3 replies and 1768 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Mon, Nov 19 2012 2:05 AM

• Wonderman
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Nov 19 2012
    • Posts 7
    • Points 140
    About Schematic and footprints in orcad.. Reply

hi everyone,

I am new to orcad. I am designing a PCB using orcad. I put all the components in the schematic and make the connections and I create a netlist and hence the footprint.

The questions are,

1) If I change any connection or component in the footprint then it should show the error indicating that it is not in schematic.

2) Some times i may forget some connections in the schematic. In such case if I add any new connection in the footprint then it should be applied to the schematic.

• Post Points: 20
  • Mon, Nov 19 2012 2:42 AM

• oldmouldy
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 15 2008
    • Woking, Surrey
    • Posts 1,454
    • Points 24,710
    Re: About Schematic and footprints in orcad.. Answer Reply
    Not really because the connections and footprints are, by and large, driven from the Schematic. IF you have enabled Pin swapping, you will be able to swap pins on a device, you will be able to swap the "sections" ("Functions") of Homogeneous parts, and you can Back Annotate these changes. But you won't be able to fundamentally change a footprint name or the connectivity defined in the netlist.
  • Mon, Nov 19 2012 3:18 AM

• Wonderman
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Nov 19 2012
    • Posts 7
    • Points 140