Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > How to design PCB Footprint for SMD Transistor

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

How to design PCB Footprint for SMD Transistor 

Last post Tue, Oct 30 2012 2:40 PM by ScottCad. 6 replies.
Started by Gopintj1 26 Oct 2012 06:39 AM. Topic has 6 replies and 3220 views
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Oct 26 2012 6:39 AM

• Gopintj1
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Sep 25 2012
    • Posts 8
    • Points 220
    How to design PCB Footprint for SMD Transistor Reply

Hi friends,

As i am very new to PCB designing using CADENCE Allegro, i would like to know how to design foot print for SMD Transistor which is shown here. As per my knowledge, i have created foot print for micro controlles(QFP) whose pin numbers are same in four faces. But, here, we have only one pin in one direction and two pins in opposite direction.

Please guide me how to design foot print for this. 

SMD Transistor

• Post Points: 65
  • Fri, Oct 26 2012 4:00 PM

Re: How to design PCB Footprint for SMD Transistor Reply

I would suggest starting off with pulling the datasheet and creating the footprint accordingly.  

It should tell you how to assign the pin number pad size etc.

• Post Points: 5
  • Sun, Oct 28 2012 3:33 PM

• ScottCad
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, May 25 2012
    • Roswell, GA
    • Posts 176
    • Points 2,775

Hello, that appears to be a SOT-23 Package, so you could create it from scratch but if you are looking for an easier method then have a look in the allegro pcb footprint library for the following symbol "SOT23.DRA" Typically the symbol library is located under your install folder

C:\Cadence\SPB_16.5\share\pcb\pcb_lib\symbols