Home > Community > Forums > RF Design > trouble with getting correct ro through sp analysis in spectre

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

trouble with getting correct ro through sp analysis in spectre 

Last post Thu, Mar 29 2012 12:52 PM by snaildr. 2 replies.
Started by snaildr 24 Mar 2012 08:15 PM. Topic has 2 replies and 2791 views
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Sat, Mar 24 2012 8:15 PM

• snaildr
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Mar 24 2012
    • Seattle, WA
    • Posts 5
    • Points 55
    trouble with getting correct ro through sp analysis in spectre Reply

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to Spectre, and was simulating some basic stuff. Here's a question about getting ro using sp analysis that puzzls me.

I'm under the impression that for the drain-source impdance, the large signal value is 'ron' which is Vds/Id, and the small-signal value is ro==1/gds, which is dVds/dId. So, for small-signal gain, I expect to use ro to match my hand calculation to simulation, and it did work.

I also want to do a sp analysis at the output port of a single-transistor common-source amplifier. I set the load to be an RF choke so that the output impedance should be the drain-source impedance. In the MOSEFT and bias condition I used, ron=40 Ohm, ro=1/gds=220 Ohm, so there's a big difference between the two. However, when I look at the Z11 (input impedance looking into the output port, i.e. drain-source port), the real(Z11) is close to ron (40Ohm) ! I varied bias voltage, MOSFET dimensions etc, this issue remains. It's supprising to me that as a small-signal simulation, sp analysis picked the large-signal impedance!