Home > Community > Forums > Logic Design > starting RTL compiler and Encounter

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

starting RTL compiler and Encounter 

Last post Wed, Nov 9 2011 1:22 PM by grasshopper. 1 replies.
Started by jun1119 03 Nov 2011 11:25 AM. Topic has 1 replies and 3588 views
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Thu, Nov 3 2011 11:25 AM

• jun1119
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jan 27 2009
    • Posts 7
    • Points 140
    starting RTL compiler and Encounter Reply

Hi all

I am totally new to encounter. I have written a VHDL code and intended to implement it using XFAB xh035 technology. I have read some tutorials online and the manual and found out that to use RC, I have to have a source script (.tcl file) and some library files. Where can I get the .tcl file and library file? I can find some .tcl and .lib files from the XFAB design kit but they do not seem to be appropriate. I have also tried loading my vhdl file without any source script with the command read_hdl -vhdl myvhdl.vhd but nothing happened. When I load it for the second time, I will get this message:

entity Digital_controller is
    |
    Warning : Replacing existing design unit. [VHDLPT-800]
            : Unit 'default:Digital_controller' in file '/home/chew/rc_digital_ctrl/VHDL/Digital_controller.vhd' on line 11, column 1.
            : A previously analyzed unit is being replaced.
    Warning : Marking out-of-date unit as invalid. [VHDLPT-801]
            : Unit 'default:digital_controller-rtl' depends on overwritten unit 'default:digital_controller'.
            : A unit is considered out-of-date when a unit that it depends on is re-analyzed.
    Warning : Replacing previously read Verilog module or VHDL entity. [HPT-76]