Home > Community > Forums > Digital Implementation > Global Placement in Encounter 6.2

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Global Placement in Encounter 6.2 

Last post Mon, Apr 7 2008 3:38 PM by archive. 6 replies.
Started by archive 07 Apr 2008 03:38 PM. Topic has 6 replies and 1904 views
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Mon, Apr 7 2008 3:38 PM

• archive
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 4 2008
    • Posts 88
    • Points 4,950
    Global Placement in Encounter 6.2 Reply

Hi all, I am relatively new to the Encounter tool. I am using Encounter v6.2 to place a simple design. I am trying to access the results of Encounter's global placement (before overlap removal) but am not sure if I can run just Global Placement using any of the text commands. I am assuming that Encounter does placement in 2 steps - global and detailed, as the text command reference manual mentions these stages. I noticed a "-fp" option and tried it. It seems to place the macros but does not show the standard cells in the core, although the log shows Wire-length and Area statistics. Can anyone tell me what is the result of "placeDesign -fp" command? Is it the result of global placement (Quadratic WL-optimization w/o overlap removal) using NanoPlace? Thanks a lot, Prad.

Originally posted in cdnusers.org by pradfernando
    • Post Points: 0
  • Mon, Apr 7 2008 3:46 PM

• archive
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Posts 88
    • Points 4,950
    RE: Global Placement in Encounter 6.2 Reply

Hi Prad,