Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > basics of thermal pad / power pad footprint creation

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

basics of thermal pad / power pad footprint creation 

Last post Wed, Aug 13 2014 11:52 AM by scmarkt. 18 replies.
Started by erivas 15 Sep 2010 02:01 PM. Topic has 18 replies and 6686 views
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, Sep 15 2010 2:01 PM

• erivas
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jul 19 2010
    • San Antonio, TX
    • Posts 10
    • Points 185
    basics of thermal pad / power pad footprint creation Reply

Hello, I'm new to Cadence, coming from Altium. I'm using Allegro Design Entry HDL and PCB Editor, rev 16.3.

As part of the new design and "new to designing with Cadence" process, I am creating parts for our library and I'm having some trouble with a TI SON part that includes a thermal pad or power pad. Here is a snap shot from the TPS6120:

TI TPS61202 Footprint

At this point, I've made the pads in the padstack editor (but made them rectangles since I didn't know how to make it a rect at one end and rounded at the other) and used the symbol creation wizard to make a SOIC. To make the thermal pad I placed a filled polygon on the Etch/top layer and it is one large pad with the outline like above.

Question: How do turn my filled polygon into a ground pin (or should I not?) and how do I add the soldermask layer to something I've drawn like this?

Question: How do I add vias to my footprint? My plan was to create the via in the padstack editor then place them in the appropriate places but I have some confusion as to whether the pad/via structure is just supposed to sit there dangling or if it should be assigned a pin # (ground).