Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > sweeping w/L ratio

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

sweeping w/L ratio 

Last post Wed, Jul 22 2009 4:54 AM by tkhan. 4 replies.
Started by whlinfei 22 Jul 2009 01:04 AM. Topic has 4 replies and 1934 views
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, Jul 22 2009 1:04 AM

• whlinfei
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Mar 15 2009
    • Posts 24
    • Points 435
    sweeping w/L ratio Reply

Hi all,

I am new to cadence and I tried to sweep a mosfet w/L ratio under a dc sweep. ( for every w/l , a gate bias dc analysis is run from 0 to Vdd).

However I tried to define my variable as "param" to indicate the number of fingers so that I could change the total width but couldt get the result.

Can anyone help me with this ? 

I am using vurtuoso schematic to design and vurtuoso analog design environment to simumlate. 

• Post Points: 20
  • Wed, Jul 22 2009 1:09 AM

Re: sweeping w/L ratio Reply

This may depend on your design kit. Some design kits over-use CDF callbacks, which prevent you being able to parameterize certain parameters. See The Dangers of CDF Callbacks (written by me) on sourcelink.

Regards,

Andrew.

• Post Points: 20
  • Wed, Jul 22 2009 1:17 AM

• whlinfei
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Mar 15 2009
    • Posts 24
    • Points 435

hi

thanks for your reply.

However I couldn't view your documents as I don't have access to sourcelink. ( couldn't register)

Can you send me a copy of that ?

for my design, I just put parameter in the number of fingers box when editting the instance property. Not sure if it's allowed. 

And I am using ibm 130nm CMSF8SF. I don't know how to use the callback you mentioned. Can you kindly tell me ?

thanks .

Best Regards,

whlinfei 

• Post Points: 35