will be under system maintenance from Tuesday June 28, 6pm PT to Sunday July 3, 11pm PT. Login and registration will be disabled.


Virtual System Platform Takes Home Coveted ACE Award for Software of the Year
At the 2012 UBM Electronics ACE Awards held Tuesday, March 27, the Cadence® Virtual System Platform was named a winner in the Software of the Year category. The UBM Electronics ACE Awards is the result of the EE Times' Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards and EDN's Innovation Awards joining forces to honor the products, people, and companies that are revitalizing the electronics industry and enhancing our lives. The ceremony took place at The Fairmont San Jose during DESIGN West (formally the Embedded Software Conference).

Accepting the ACE Award for the Cadence Virtual System Platform is Michael "Mac" McNamara, Vice President, R&D for System Level Design, Cadence
Presenting for UBM, Patrick Mannion, Content Director for EDN/EE Times Design Lines
The Virtual System Platform—which earlier in the year was distinguished as an “Editor's Choice” product by The Journal of Embedded Signal Processing, DSP-FPGA—was introduced in 2011. It is an integral part of the Cadence System Development Suite that features a continuum of simulation, emulation, virtual prototyping, and FPGA-based prototyping technologies for hardware and software design and verification. The Virtual System Platform brings a software-centric approach to embedded system development.

Using the Virtual System Platform, companies can develop virtual platforms that enable software engineers to perform pre-silicon system-level design, software development, and testing. The ability to begin software development months earlier in the hardware and software development and integration cycle has an enormous impact on engineering productivity, schedule predictability, and project costs.

Cadence Virtual System Platform Team Members
Front row: Qizhang Chao, Michael McNamara, Neeti Bhatnagar, Mayo Tsuzuki
Back row: Chi-hung Shua, ntr Narra, Josh Levine, Kruti Shah, Kudbudeen Jalaudeen, Bruce Bastian, Jai Gulabeela, Archie Zhang

Not pictured: Larry Melling, Mike Williamson, Sergiy Candell, Steve Brown, Suchitra Singh, Dave Von Bank, George Frazier, Jason Andrews, Woody LaRue, Andrew Wilmot, Ben Allen, Kathy Lang, Ned Utzig, Zhiting Duan, Bishnupriya Bhattacharya, Chandra Sekhar Katuri, Narasimha Patkar, Praveen Wadikar, Samik Das, Subhra Lahiri, Ram Kishore Thota, Ravi Chakilam, Christian Sauer, Jean-Michel Fernandez, and Gaurav Maheshwari.

Feature stories archive »