Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC SKILL > abutment and controlling S/D dropping

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

abutment and controlling S/D dropping 

Last post Thu, May 15 2014 11:12 AM by theopaone. 3 replies.
Started by RonSill 16 Apr 2014 07:05 AM. Topic has 3 replies and 346 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, Apr 16 2014 7:05 AM

• RonSill
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Feb 14 2011
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • Posts 10
    • Points 125
    abutment and controlling S/D dropping Reply

I am an end user layout engineer. I am not a developer of PDKs or Pcells, etc. so I am at the mercy of what is given me to use for the most part. I do develop SKILL code for automation of the layout task. One of the problems we encounter is when we abut pcell mos devices and the source/drain of one of the abuted devices drops off. That is all fine except sometimes when you pull the devices back apart the source/drain does not come back. This is a problem and probably has something to do with the way the pcell was created. If I happen to instantiate any new pcells of the same type the source/drain will also be missing on the new device as well. 

As an end user in most libraries I found that if I view the properties of the pcell most our libraries have a 'disable callback' button I can click on, apply the form, then click off and re-apply the form and the source/drain comes back and all is well.