Home > Community > Forums > Digital Implementation > CTS and Routing

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

CTS and Routing 

Last post Thu, Sep 19 2013 11:38 AM by Kari. 1 replies.
Started by amythpai 28 Apr 2013 11:49 AM. Topic has 1 replies and 638 views
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Sun, Apr 28 2013 11:49 AM

• amythpai
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Mar 17 2013
    • Lannion, Cotes-dArmor
    • Posts 14
    • Points 220
    CTS and Routing Reply
    Hello. 
    I have some doubts regarding clock tree generation and routing. I am just a beginner in this field, so certain question might seem trivial:

1. Is the CTS done before the routing process or after the routing process.

2. I was trying the optimisation option in SOC encounter before routing and it inserts buffers for the two clocks which I have in the design. Can i do the optimisation after the CTS as I donot want these buffers to be added before CTS as it doesnot detect the entire path when I do the CTS. Only till the first buffer.

3.  I have a pad 
    BD3CRUDQP_1V2_SF_LIN PAD_N_Clk ( .A(1'b0), .TA(1'b0), .TM(1'b0), .EN(1'b1), 
            .TEN(1'b0), .IO(Clk_PAD), .PDN(1'b1), .PUN(1'b0), .ZI(Clk) );
    While doing the CTS, in the .ctstch file should i mention PAD_N_CLK/ZI in the AutoCTSRootPin option or is there any other command for IO pads?

4. I tried doing CTS after the rooting and found a lot of DRC errors when I did the verify geometry. What may be the problem? Should I now run the optimisation of the design command?

Thank you
    • Post Points: 20
  • Thu, Sep 19 2013 11:38 AM

• Kari
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 15 2008
    • Cary, NC
    • Posts 693
    • Points 14,275
    Re: CTS and Routing Reply