Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > adding white and flicker noise sources in cadence virtuoso

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

adding white and flicker noise sources in cadence virtuoso 

Last post Sat, Feb 16 2013 2:38 PM by OneNewBoy. 7 replies.
Started by OneNewBoy 14 Feb 2013 03:30 PM. Topic has 7 replies and 3257 views
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Thu, Feb 14 2013 3:30 PM

• OneNewBoy
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Feb 14 2013
    • Posts 13
    • Points 200
    adding white and flicker noise sources in cadence virtuoso Reply

Hi all,

I am new to cadence virtuoso/spectre. I want to design an ADC for which I have written some components through verilog A containing their respective noise models implemented through white_noise and flicker_noise functions.

Now how to activate those sources in spectre simulation ? It's only active in small signal analysis as far as I know.
    However I want noise to be present along with the main signal so that I can measure SNR etc using calculator function.

So which type of analysis to use: tran or noise ? and how (few lines of analysis statement will help)

Moreover, from cadence virtuoso manual I found that we can perform small signal analysis during transient analysis, by using below command:

Name tran stop=stop actimes=time acnames=name

However I got a syntax error of  "ERROR (SPECTRE-16062): Output of circuit is not specified." on running below code snippet on a simple test circuit :

tran tran stop=4u write="spectre.ic" writefinal="spectre.fc" \

annotate=status maxiters=5 actimes=[2u] acnames=[noise1]

noise1 noise start=2u stop=2.1u

finalTimeOP info what=oppoint where=rawfile