Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC SKILL > SKILL Variable

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

SKILL Variable 

Last post Mon, Jan 21 2013 11:35 PM by Andrew Beckett. 8 replies.
Started by hrishikesh 28 Dec 2012 02:04 AM. Topic has 8 replies and 1517 views
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Dec 28 2012 2:04 AM

• hrishikesh
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Dec 28 2012
    • Posts 5
    • Points 85
    SKILL Variable Reply

I am new to Cadence SKILL. I am trying to understand a SKILL script file containing many procedures. Many of these procedures use a variable which holds a constant list. But it doesn't seem to be assigned anywhere in the script file. Can you suggest any possible place from where it could be assigned? Is there any way in SKILL to import variables from another file?

• Post Points: 20
  • Fri, Dec 28 2012 3:58 AM

• marcelpreda
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Jan 19 2010
    • Bucharest, Romania
    • Posts 44
    • Points 715
    Re: SKILL Variable Reply

Hi there,

By default all the SKILL vars are global.

To identify where there were defined, may not be an easy task:

You have to look for calls like load(...) and/or loadi(...) in your code , or in CDS.log file.

Vars can  also be defined in context ("compiled") files, using loagContext() functions - here it is even more dificult to track.

After identifimg all those files use "grep"  command  to find the lines where the var was defined.

BR,

Marcel

• Wed, Jan 2 2013 2:20 AM

• hrishikesh
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 5
    • Points 85

Hi Marcel,

Thanks for your reply. I checked the log file. It says loading many .il and .cxt files. But some of the files only have their names specified, not the complete path. Any info to locate them would be very helpful.

BR,

Hrishikesh