Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Glitch(Spike) in the output..

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Glitch(Spike) in the output.. 

Last post Tue, Oct 30 2012 2:18 PM by Raki87. 2 replies.
Started by Raki87 28 Oct 2012 07:04 AM. Topic has 2 replies and 889 views
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Sun, Oct 28 2012 7:04 AM

• Raki87
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Oct 28 2012
    • Posts 2
    • Points 25
    Glitch(Spike) in the output.. Reply
    Hello..I am new to cadence, I was trying to simulate the simple 'd' latch using cadence, but i noticed that there is a spike in the output going above my supply voltage and below the ground level( i have rise and fall time of clock and D input as 5 ns). When i increase the rise time and fall time of my clock(D) the glitch is reduced, but my fellow students who use the same version of the cadence, are getting the correct output even for rise , fall time of 5n sec. i get this glitch only when i simulate the schematic and not in layout simulation.. Is there anythin i missed in my transient analysis? because of this glitch my desired attributes are not met, please suggest me a way out..Thanks!
    • Post Points: 20
  • Mon, Oct 29 2012 7:11 AM

• grasshopper
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Jul 17 2008
    • Chelmsford, MA
    • Posts 241
    • Points 3,200
    Re: Glitch(Spike) in the output.. Reply

Hi Raki87,