Home > Community > Forums > Functional Verification > SystemVerilog modport question

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

SystemVerilog modport question 

Last post Fri, Sep 28 2012 5:07 AM by SCollins. 2 replies.
Started by SCollins 13 Sep 2012 03:54 AM. Topic has 2 replies and 2002 views
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Thu, Sep 13 2012 3:54 AM

• SCollins
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Aug 10 2012
    • Posts 5
    • Points 40
    SystemVerilog modport question Reply

Hi All,

I'm new to using interfaces and would like to implement an interface that connects a master module to 2 other identical slave modules. The interface simply contains a 2 bit data bus that is driven by the master. I would like the interface to split the bus such that one slave is driven by the LSB and the other slave is driven by the MSB of the bus.

I believe the easiest way of doing this is to use modports - a master modport and a different modport for each slave. The interface code would then look something like this (modports are on single lines for compactness):

interface data_bus_if

logic [1:0] data;

modport master (output data);

modport slave0 (input .data_bit(data[0]));

modport slave1 (input .data_bit(data[1]));

endinterface : data_bus_if

I'd imagine this scenario is quite common but Incisive doesn't appear to support modport expressions. How can I implement the interface so that it compiles with Incisive?

Many thanks!

• Post Points: 20
  • Mon, Sep 24 2012 4:26 AM

• StephenH
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Sep 2 2008
    • Bristol, Avon
    • Posts 268
    • Points 4,310
    Re: SystemVerilog modport question Reply

Hi Sean (?)