Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > Back annotate / Netlist Update

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Back annotate / Netlist Update 

Last post Wed, Aug 22 2012 6:10 PM by redwire. 5 replies.
Started by nicknails 17 Aug 2012 10:04 AM. Topic has 5 replies and 2535 views
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Aug 17 2012 10:04 AM

• nicknails
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jun 12 2012
    • Posts 3
    • Points 60
    Back annotate / Netlist Update Reply
    I'm new to Orcad so bear with me.  I've been using Orcad 16.2 Capture and Layout.  The schematic was created in capture and then the board was laid out.  In the board, I changed some parts (both name and footprint) as well as some netlists.  How do I update the schematic to reflect this?  I tried doing a back annotation, but it didn't seem to do anything.  I got some errors that it can't find certain designators, but those are probably just some test points that I added in.
    Filed under: , ,
    • Post Points: 20
  • Mon, Aug 20 2012 8:03 PM

• redwire
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Jul 17 2008
    • Allen, TX
    • Posts 875
    • Points 13,480
    Re: Back annotate / Netlist Update Reply

Hmm...the back annotation should work.  What was the *exact* technique that you used?  Was the schematic and board synchronized before the backannotation occurred?  What were the error messages specifically?

• Tue, Aug 21 2012 5:48 AM

• nicknails
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 3
    • Points 60

As far as I know, the two files are not synchronized.  No idea how to do that.  We used to outsource our boards and now we are doing everything internally.  I have all the files, but they're a big mess at the moment.