Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > Ground Plane split in PCB editor - Isolated ground plane creation

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Ground Plane split in PCB editor - Isolated ground plane creation 

Last post Mon, Jul 16 2012 12:39 PM by PCBdesigner100. 3 replies.
Started by PCBdesigner100 13 Jul 2012 12:14 PM. Topic has 3 replies and 4019 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, Jul 13 2012 12:14 PM

Ground Plane split in PCB editor - Isolated ground plane creation Reply
     I am new to PCB design. Designing a PCB which has isolated grounds. To create splitted ground I follow this procedure. 

1. Run add line.
    2. In the Options tab, choose ANTI-ETCH class and the subclass where you want the split plane.
    3. In the Options tab, use the line width setting to control the clearance between the split planes.
    4. Add the line to indicate where the split is to occur. We suggest that the line endpoints extend
    beyond the ROUTE KEEPIN/ALL shape that is used as the basis for the split plane.
    5. Continue adding lines for the number of required split planes desired.
    6. Optional: run the split plane parameter command to indicate the fill style of the shapes on the split
    plane using split plane param.
    7. Run split plane create.
    The Create Split Plane dialog box appears.
    8. Enter the layer on which to create a split plane (should correspond to the layer chosen in step 2).
    9. Choose a Shape Type of dynamic or static.
    10. Click Create.
    The display centers on and highlights a shape and a net data browser appears requesting a net be
    assigned to the shape.
    11. Enter a net name you want associated with this shape.
    12. Continue net assignment for each shape that was created.