Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > PCB Editor 16.3 problems with etch connectivity/anti-etch

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

PCB Editor 16.3 problems with etch connectivity/anti-etch 

Last post Wed, Jun 6 2012 4:49 AM by steve. 1 replies.
Started by AFCad 02 Jun 2012 06:57 AM. Topic has 1 replies and 3575 views
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Sat, Jun 2 2012 6:57 AM

• AFCad
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Jun 2 2012
    • Posts 1
    • Points 20
    PCB Editor 16.3 problems with etch connectivity/anti-etch Reply

I'm using Allegro PCB Editor 16.3, kind of new to it but I have plenty of experience using OrCAD Layout. I.e., I know what I want to do, but not how to do it in PCB Editor.

I'd like some help with the following problems, one or (preferably) more of them:

1. The symbol editor: How do I make an copper connection (using a static solid shape on the TOP (or another etch) layer) between a connect pin and a mechanical pin? Preferably without a lot of DRC errors...
    2. In the board editor: How do I link (geometrically, not electrically) a shape to a symbol, so that the shape is moved automatically when I move/rotate the symbol? I.e., without making another symbol with another name in the symbol editor?
    3. In both the symbol editor and the board editor: How can I remove the dynamic copper fills on all etch layers under a rectangle I define, like the Orcad Layout "pour keepout" function? I tried the "anti-etch all" shape, but the ground plane (dynamic fill) did not disappear along the outline I defined. Also, should the anti-etch be a "Shape->Rectangular" or "Add->Rectangular"?