Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > New 16.5 user

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

New 16.5 user 

Last post Tue, Sep 17 2013 9:48 AM by Leeya. 18 replies.
Started by TH Designs 04 May 2012 06:15 AM. Topic has 18 replies and 6277 views
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts:
  • Fri, May 4 2012 6:15 AM

• TH Designs
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Apr 13 2012
    • Warminster, PA
    • Posts 269
    • Points 4,370
    New 16.5 user Reply

Hi all,

I am new to PCB Editor 16.5 coming from Orcad Layout 15.7. I have been using Orcad products to do pcb layouts since it first came out back in the 80's. I would consider myself an expert user in Orcad Layout. I have found the transition to 16.5 to be nothing short of painful and I am looking for some guidance to help ease the pain..........

Any tips / lessons learned from folks that have successfully made this jump would be appreciated.

Tom

• Post Points: 35
  • Tue, May 8 2012 6:27 AM

• steve
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 18 2008
    • Woking, Surrey
    • Posts 1,163
    • Points 18,900
    Re: New 16.5 user Reply

There is a great book avaliable written by Kraig Mitzner - Complete PCB Design using Orcad Capture and PCB Editor. Although it written for version 16.0 the basics are the same. I would also recommend talking to either Cadence or the VAR that sold you the software. Most VAR's have excellent resources, PDF's, videos, tutorials, training that help users make the switch.

If you have specific questions then you've found the correct forum to ask. Good luck.

• Post Points: 20
  • Tue, May 8 2012 9:01 AM

• TH Designs
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Warminster, PA
    • Posts 269
    • Points 4,370

Thanks for the response Steve.