Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Phase Noise vs frequency graph problem

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Phase Noise vs frequency graph problem 

Last post Tue, Jun 26 2012 4:11 AM by rohan kr. 7 replies.
Started by rohan kr 28 Mar 2012 01:39 AM. Topic has 7 replies and 4768 views
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, Mar 28 2012 1:39 AM

• rohan kr
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Mar 28 2012
    • Melbourne, Victoria
    • Posts 10
    • Points 110
    Phase Noise vs frequency graph problem Reply

Hello

I am a newbie engineer starting my career in IC design and working on a  high frequency oscillator (38 GHz). I am using Cadence IC6.1.5-64b.500 version and using spectre simulator for the schemtic design and simulations.

I am having doubts about my 'pnoise' analysis. All the research papers I have referred show the graph of phase noise (dbc) vs. frequency which have values of phase noise(PN) in negative i.e. around -90 to -100 dbc (the graph should be like the flicker noise graph) but I am getting positive  values of PN(with similar type of curve). I have used the 'relative harmonic as 1 and all the settings seem to be as described in the cadence simulation guide. 

I have referred most of the  community forum in EDAforum,designer-guide and even the Cadence community...there are problems related to this..but there is no definite answer as to how i can get the correct graph as shown in most of the research papers...In one of the community one guy gave an explanation of the equation spectre uses to simulate pn...My question is whether i need to make changes in the circuit or some settings in cadence...

Kindly help me as it is my first major project and need to do well...thanks in advance.. 

Filed under: ,
    • Post Points: 35