Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > Package to package clearance

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Package to package clearance 

Last post Fri, Aug 26 2011 1:46 AM by RiskCord. 3 replies.
Started by RiskCord 25 Aug 2011 06:23 AM. Topic has 3 replies and 2815 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Thu, Aug 25 2011 6:23 AM

• RiskCord
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 22 2011
    • Tullamore, Ossally
    • Posts 6
    • Points 90
    Package to package clearance Reply

Hello everybody!

Another newbie here! My issue goes as follows:

I am building my component symbols libraries for my project, and am working with the design guidelines from the PCB manufacturer. There, they require what they call a "Placement Keepout Area to Neighboring Component Placement Keepout Area", that is a placement keepout or courtyard from other component placement keepouts, to ensure certain clearance between components.

The question goes, which is the best way to define this clearance when creating the part symbols? The easiest way I guess would be to set the package boundary so that it cover the real physical boundary of the package plus the required clearance. The drawback of this, is that the 2-1/2 view will now display the package + clearance. Is there any other bound or keepout that would do the trick?

Thank you very much!

• Post Points: 35
  • Thu, Aug 25 2011 1:23 PM

• KEN13
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Aug 6 2008
    • Pleasant Valley, CT
    • Posts 113
    • Points 1,800
    Re: Package to package clearance Reply

Risk,