Home > Community > Forums > PCB Design > Cannot place parts in PCB editor 16.2

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Cannot place parts in PCB editor 16.2 

Last post Thu, Feb 24 2011 5:51 AM by gtaylor. 3 replies.
Started by karac 23 Feb 2011 02:01 PM. Topic has 3 replies and 2317 views
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Wed, Feb 23 2011 2:01 PM

• karac
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 23 2011
    • Posts 2
    • Points 40
    Cannot place parts in PCB editor 16.2 Reply

I am a newbie and am trying to design my first PCB. I've made my schematic, pads, footprints, generating netlist and even created my board outline. But I cannot place any of my parts! I cannot find/see my "Placement Edit" button (only Generaledit and Etchedit). And when I try to Place --> Manually, I cannot place any of my parts on the board. Also, there are no graphics for any of my parts in the Quickview window. Two items of interest in my viewlog are the following messages: "Warnin: unplaced components are not PLACE TAGGED." and "ERROR: No placement grid was found." Please help! I tried Place --> Autoplace --> Top Grids to insert a placement grid. But I still cannot figure out how to place parts.

• Post Points: 20
  • Thu, Feb 24 2011 1:03 AM

• gtaylor
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Nov 2 2010
    • Southampton, Hampshire
    • Posts 19
    • Points 275
    Re: Cannot place parts in PCB editor 16.2 Reply

Can you see the list of parts that youre trying to place in the popup window when going to place ---> manually? If so, theres a chance your settings arent pointed to the correct path for your footprints.

Go to setup ---> user preferences ---> in the categories tab click paths  ---> library

... and make sure the address to your footprints/padstacks is set up correctly.