Home > Community > Forums > Custom IC Design > Using Spice Models/Netlists with icfb

Email

* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Using Spice Models/Netlists with icfb 

Last post Mon, Jan 3 2011 6:53 AM by Quek. 1 replies.
Started by mixedsignal 07 Dec 2010 04:29 AM. Topic has 1 replies and 3826 views
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts:
  • Tue, Dec 7 2010 4:29 AM

• mixedsignal
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Dec 7 2010
    • -, Bavaria
    • Posts 1
    • Points 20
    Using Spice Models/Netlists with icfb Reply

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the Cadence Environment and now I've got the task to make some simulations including some commercial PSpice models within the Cadence Environment (icfb, Virtuoso etc.). I found some information on the internet saying that this task could be done using "CDL in...". I tried this, but I'm facing now two problems:

1. The interpreter seems to ignore all RLC-units, I guess the spice file has a incompatible syntax here. Unfortunately I don't know how to fix it. I couldn't find any information about it on the internet. Does anyone know help here (how to do or where to get information)?

2. Due to problem 1. there are only transistors in the resulting schematic, but they all just come with the default parameters. It seems like all the transistor here just come with parameters like gate width etc. while they are being discribed in the netlist with typical Spice parameters like IS, BF etc. Since I couldn't find any transistor in the huge library which could handle those parameters, I'm asking you: is there a "Spice" like transistor available at all?

The first model I tried to simulate is the Texas Instruments OPA2227 with the official model:

http://focus.ti.com/docs/prod/folders/print/opa2227.html#toolssoftware