Home > Community > Blogs > Industry Insights > cadence s andreas kuehlmann to head ieee council on eda
Login with a Cadence account.
Not a member yet?
Create a permanent login account to make interactions with Cadence more conveniennt.

Register | Membership benefits
Get email delivery of the Industry Insights blog (individual posts).


* Required Fields

Recipients email * (separate multiple addresses with commas)

Your name *

Your email *

Message *

Contact Us

* Required Fields
First Name *

Last Name *

Email *

Company / Institution *

Comments: *

Cadence’s Andreas Kuehlmann To Head IEEE Council On EDA

Comments(0)Filed under: EDA, Industry Insights, DAC, DATE, Adreas Kuehlmann, ICCAD, CEDA

With a deep involvement in conferences, publications, educational programs and awards, the IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA) is a behind-the-scenes organization that has a large influence on the professional EDA community. Andreas Kuehlmann, Cadence fellow and director of Cadence Research Labs, will become president of IEEE CEDA in January – and he’s aiming to “ramp up” CEDA’s activities and increase its visibility and value.

Whether or not you’ve heard of IEEE CEDA, you’ve certainly heard of the Design Automation Conference (DAC), which CEDA co-sponsors. In fact, the council sponsors or co-sponsors over a dozen EDA-related conferences, including the International Conference on Computer Aided Design (ICCAD) and Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE). CEDA publishes the IEEE Transactions on CAD and the newly-launched IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. The council offers a Distinguished Speaker Series and sponsors the A. Richard Newton and Phil Kaufman awards.

In this short video, Andreas talks about why CEDA was formed, what activities CEDA is involved in, what his priorities will be as CEDA president, and how people can get involved.

If this video fails to launch click here.

Andreas will succeed current CEDA president John Darringer, director of the design automation department at IBM Research. Additional members of Andreas’ team include the following:

  • Prof. Donatella Scuito from Politecnico di Milano in Italy will become president-elect (and president after Andreas’ two-year term).
  • Sani Nassif, manager of the IBM Austin Research Laboratory, will become vice president of conferences.
  • Prof. David Atienza Alonso of the Complutense University of Madrid will become vice president of finance.
  • Prof. Rajesh Gupta of the University of California/San Diego remains as vice president of publications.
  • Shishpal Rawat, director of EDA investments for Intel, remains as vice president of technical activities.

I wish this team well in their efforts to bring more value to the EDA community.

Richard Goering


Leave a Comment

E-mail (will not be published)
 I have read and agree to the Terms of use and Community Guidelines.
Community Guidelines
The Cadence Design Communities support Cadence users and technologists interacting to exchange ideas, news, technical information, and best practices to solve problems and get the most from Cadence technology. The community is open to everyone, and to provide the most value, we require participants to follow our Community Guidelines that facilitate a quality exchange of ideas and information. By accessing, contributing, using or downloading any materials from the site, you agree to be bound by the full Community Guidelines.